Vegetarians and gelatine

There are many myths about what vegetarians can eat, and do eat. People are often surprised when I tell them the lengths I go to make sure I stay true to my vegetarian principles.

What do vegetarian’s eat?

My definition of a vegetarian is someone who does not eat animals, including meat and fish, and also including by-products of the slaughter industry. This includes gelatine.

What is gelatine?

Gelatine is made from animal bones and is used in the food industry as a setting agent. It may surprise to know the wide range of foods that it contained in. Gelatine is often found in:

  • Yoghurt
  • Sweets or candies
  • Jelly
  • Marshmallows
  • Cakes

Do all vegetarians avoid gelatine?

No. Not all vegetarians avoid gelatine. Friends of mine do not have a problem eating it. I personally cannot justify eating something knowing it has animal bones in it. I also avoid eating anything with animal fat and animal rennet in it but I’ll save that debate for another blog post.

Vegetarian-friendly non-gelatine products

There are companies out there who do understand the need to cater for people who do not wish to eat gelatine. They include:

Many supermarkets will sell yoghurts that do not contain gelatine, just make sure you always check the ingredients first before you buy.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s