I often wonder what criteria food manufacturers and supermarkets use when applying the ‘V’ symbol to vegetarian products.
I was searching for some balsamic vinegar on the Sainsburys website yesterday and the one I wanted did not have the V symbol on it. Is this because it is truly not vegetarian or is it because they simply did not use the symbol on it?
There is a degree of trust implied when you see the symbol that you trust the manufacturer agress with what your definition of a vegatariaqn is.
My definition of a vegetarian
My definition of a vegetarian food is something that contains no meat, fish or poultry and no ingredients of the animal slaughter industry. This includes:
- Animal fat
- Artificial ingredients derived from animals, such as cochineal.
Veggie approved products
If you are looking for vegetarian foods, I suggest you always double check the ingredients do not have any animal ingredients. A good place to start when looking for veggie foods in the Vegetarian Socity website list of approved products.
When you then learn to know what constitutes a veggie-friendly ingredient you’ll be better informed when looking at ingredients lists.
The ‘V’ sysmbol is a great way of knowing what is veggie but my advice is to always look beyond it for 100% certainty.