Cook Vegetarian

I’ve been cooking veggie food for over twenty years but sometimes I run out of inspiration.

I often turn to the internet for vegetarian recipe ideas. However, I do also recommend subscribing to a vegetarian cooking magazine if you’re also looking for some non-meaty culinary ideas.

Cook Vegetarian

I have subscribed to two different vegetarian magazines, ‘Cook Vegetarian‘ and ‘Vegetarian Living‘.

I prefer ‘Cook Vegetarian’ as it has more recipes. I also really like the colour photos and I find the recipes easy to follow. It’s not one of those magazines with loads of really bizarre ingredients your struggle to get hold of.

Cook Vegetarian magazine

Cook Vegetarian magazine

It costs £17.25 for six issues and I just discovered you can buy a digital edition from the Apple newsstand.

I have no affiliation with this magazine. I just wanted to recommend it as I always find something I want to make in it and often their recipes are very seasonal too.

Advertisements

V is for Vegetarian

I often wonder what criteria food manufacturers and supermarkets use when applying the ‘V’ symbol to vegetarian products.

I was searching for some balsamic vinegar on the Sainsburys website yesterday and the one I wanted did not have the V symbol on it. Is this because it is truly not vegetarian or is it because they simply did not use the symbol on it?

The vegetarian symbol

The vegetarian symbol

There is a degree of trust implied when you see the symbol that you trust the manufacturer agress with what your definition of a vegatariaqn is.

My definition of a vegetarian

My definition of a vegetarian food is something that contains no meat, fish or poultry and no  ingredients of the animal slaughter industry. This includes:

  • Gelatine
  • Animal fat
  • Artificial ingredients derived from animals, such as cochineal.

Veggie approved products

If you are looking for vegetarian foods, I suggest you always double check the ingredients do not have any animal ingredients. A good place to start when looking for veggie foods in the Vegetarian Socity website list of approved products.

When you then learn to know what constitutes a veggie-friendly ingredient you’ll be better informed when looking at ingredients lists.

The ‘V’ sysmbol is a great way of knowing what is veggie but my advice is to always look beyond it for 100% certainty.

Vegetarians and gelatine

There are many myths about what vegetarians can eat, and do eat. People are often surprised when I tell them the lengths I go to make sure I stay true to my vegetarian principles.

What do vegetarian’s eat?

My definition of a vegetarian is someone who does not eat animals, including meat and fish, and also including by-products of the slaughter industry. This includes gelatine.

What is gelatine?

Gelatine is made from animal bones and is used in the food industry as a setting agent. It may surprise to know the wide range of foods that it contained in. Gelatine is often found in:

  • Yoghurt
  • Sweets or candies
  • Jelly
  • Marshmallows
  • Cakes

Do all vegetarians avoid gelatine?

No. Not all vegetarians avoid gelatine. Friends of mine do not have a problem eating it. I personally cannot justify eating something knowing it has animal bones in it. I also avoid eating anything with animal fat and animal rennet in it but I’ll save that debate for another blog post.

Vegetarian-friendly non-gelatine products

There are companies out there who do understand the need to cater for people who do not wish to eat gelatine. They include:

Many supermarkets will sell yoghurts that do not contain gelatine, just make sure you always check the ingredients first before you buy.